The Future.

November 14, 2011 at 6:57 pm (Uncategorized)


I had mentioned to you, my revered reader, that I was at a cousin’s wedding this weekend.

And I did not mean to leave the story there.

The town I am connected to, my motherland, is a place I have barely frequented in all my years of existence. It is a place which has one petrol pump station, donkeys in the street, and lots of people affected in the fiscal realm.

It is also a place where lots of innovation in Islam is practiced; where people are highly superstitious and where people tend to associate partners with Allaah (the only True God).

Lots of young girls were crowded around a woman in the wedding– a woman I made acquaintances with earlier that day. Someone grabbed my hand and pushed me towards her saying something like ‘I want hers told!’, ‘Do hers!’

I looked askance, and then realized what was going on when I saw the woman holding a girl’s palm up to her face. Before she could complete an ‘Ah! This girl! She is a simpleton’ (about me), I wrenched my hand away, reminded them to get back to their faith, and walked off without looking at them again (and without worrying about appearing socially retarded).

And do you know the contents of my conversation with the woman before I came to know about her palm-reading tendencies? It comprised of simpers, smiles and pleasantries which I would never have bestowed on such a fool, a fake,  if I had known about her past time.

Can the lines on your hand tell whether you get hit by a truck the next moment or whether you’ll get the most accomplished, tall, handsome guy in your village?

Horse-filth. You are obnoxious, and stupid, when you read palms or go to palmists or believe in palmistry. You say you believe in One God and preach to people, and then you believe that random lines on your hand determine your future? Are those lines your god or is Allaah your God?

”And indeed it has been revealed to you (O Muhammad ), as it was to those (Allah’s Messengers) before you: “If you join others in worship with Allah, (then) surely (all) your deeds will be in vain, and you will certainly be among the losers.”

Nay! But worship Allah (Alone and none else), and be among the grateful.”

(The Holy Qur’an, Surah Az-Zumar, verses 65 and 66).

Leave a Reply

