Staryay Ma Shei!

November 11, 2011 at 10:28 am (Uncategorized)


In my language, this is a greeting people jeeringly throw on each other when they see you. It is the fresh piece of sarcasm that replaced ‘good morning’, which I would hear from my relatives when I’d wake up at 3pm or so to groggily meet them when they’d visit my house.

It means ‘don’t get tired’.

My language is rich in it’s eccentricities. Popular insults that can reduce my countrymen to tears are ‘I’ll smell your dad’s socks’, ‘Become a dog’ and ‘I hope you get paralysed’.

(I often hear the last one being said by parents in a loving coo to their kids. Or aunties to their revered nieces).

I have been in my hometown for the past four days for a cousin’s wedding, enjoying the various idiosyncrasies my extended family has to offer. Let’s hope I ‘don’t get tired’ of them soon 😀

2 Comments

  1. Miss S. said,

    ahhh I miss us coming up with our eccentric forms of criticism for the language ;_;

  2. Mendaxxx said,

    I miss Asad calling you mateezay : P I miss what happened to you at the hands of Asad after you threw water on your sleeping brother : P Such an angel you were as a child : P

Leave a Reply

